• This forum is currently in Read-Only mode and will not accept new threads, posts or responses.

To Sign Up for the New Forum, click here: https://www.cco.us/cco-forum/

Help! a coding case that is a stumper for me! (I am just learning)

Tina

Here is the situation:

47 year old patient
kidney failure RT
LT kidney status post transplant
CA of kidney LT due to
OVARIAN CANCER
dialysis
biopsy LT kidney
removal of LT kidney

(this was a true case) Where do I start? What is the breakdown and why. If someone could help me step by step with this one, it would be sooooo appreciated!

Carolyn Heath

Blitzer
CCO Club Member
CCO Practicoder
I will try to take a shot at this:
Kidney Failure RT -- 586 -- this is an ICD-9 code
LT Kidney Status Post Transplant -- V42.0 -- this is also an ICD-9 code
Ovarian Cancer -- 183.0 -- the pt had this before the kidney cancer
Cancer of LT Kidney -- 189.0 -- the ovarian cancer caused the kidney cancer
Dialysis -- 90935 for hemodialysis or 90951 for ERSD dialysis -- that is the question, hemodialysis or ESRD dialysis
Biopsy of LT Kidney -- 50200 (needle) or 50205 (surgical) -- the question of whether the biopsy is done by a needle or surgical
Removal of LT Kidney -- 50220 to 50240 -- is it a partial removal or a total removal

Tina